Probate Panel homeGet quotes

Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP: published probate fees

For grant of probate only, Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP publishes a fee from £526 VAT not stated.

57% below the £1,210 median across the 522 firms here that publish one for grant of probate only.

Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.

Ask Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP for a quoteCheck the firm's price page

Grant of probate only

The firm applies for the grant. You do the rest of the estate work yourself.

One published price for grant of probate only
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
from £526VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
June 24, 2026. HM Courts and Tribunals Service proposes to raise the fee for obtaining a grant of probate from £300 to £526 on 13th July 2026.

Estates paying inheritance tax

Estates that need a full inheritance tax account for HMRC.

One published price for estates paying inheritance tax
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£2,500VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
May 3, 2022 Making a gift and minimising inheritance tax May 3, 2022. April 2022 Apr 19, 2022 BSG Raise £2500 in Honour of Andie Brown Apr 19, 2022.

Probate work

The firm did not say which part of the work this price covers.

One published price for probate work
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
from £526VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
What is changing and when?. From 13th July 2026, the flat fee for applying for a grant of probate in England and Wales rises from £300 to £526, subject to parliamentary approval.

The firm

Regulated by
The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 524974
Where
Lancaster, Lancashire, LA1 1BJ
Telephone
01524 386500
Prices published at
www.bsglaw.co.uk/news/2026/6/24/probate-fees-are-about-to-rise-by-75
Website
www.bsglaw.co.uk

How to read these prices

Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.

Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.

Is this your firm?

This page is built from the prices Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.

If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.

Email us about this page