Probate Panel homeGet quotes

Blakewater Solicitors Ltd: published probate fees

Blakewater Solicitors Ltd publishes its probate charges as hourly rates rather than as a fixed fee.

Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.

Ask Blakewater Solicitors Ltd for a quoteCheck the firm's price page

Estates paying inheritance tax

Estates that need a full inheritance tax account for HMRC.

2 published prices for estates paying inheritance tax
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
3% of the estateVAT not statedPercentage of the estate
The firm's words
There are no claims made against the estate. In the event the estate doesn't fall in line with the above guidance i.e. there are multiple properties, shareholdings and possible Inheritance Tax liability then the firm's charge will realistically be closer to 3% of the gross value of the estate but...
£250 an hourplus VATHourly rate
The firm's words
With Inheritance Tax – £250 + VAT (20%) per hour is generally the minimum.

Probate work

The firm did not say which part of the work this price covers.

2 published prices for probate work
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
1% to 5% of the estateVAT not statedPercentage of the estate
The firm's words
The firm's charges will usually amount to between 1% and 5% of the gross value of the estate.
3% of the estateVAT not statedPercentage of the estate estimate
The firm's words
If there are multiple beneficiaries, a property and multiple bank accounts, costs will be at the higher end. The firm's charges will be closer to 3% of the gross estate where the estate is more straightforward, for example where:-.

This firm publishes no fixed probate fee, so the final cost depends on the hours the work takes. Ask for an estimate in writing before you instruct.

The firm

Regulated by
The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 449163
Where
Blackburn, BB1 7AT
Telephone
01254 261515
Prices published at
www.blakewatersolicitors.com/probate-what-will-it-cost/
Website
www.blakewatersolicitors.com

How to read these prices

Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.

Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.

Is this your firm?

This page is built from the prices Blakewater Solicitors Ltd publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.

If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.

Email us about this page