Carter Vincent LLP: published probate fees
For grant of probate only, Carter Vincent LLP publishes a fee of £400 to £800 VAT not stated.
67% below the £1,210 median across the 522 firms here that publish one for grant of probate only.
Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.
Ask Carter Vincent LLP for a quoteCheck the firm's price page
Grant of probate only
The firm applies for the grant. You do the rest of the estate work yourself.
| Price | How it is charged | What the firm published |
|---|---|---|
| £400 to £800VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsApplying for the grant only. In cases where no Inheritance Account (IHT400) needs to be submitted and where there's either a will or there is a close surviving relative who is entitled to apply for the grant in the absence of a will (under the rules of intestacy), we can usually provide this serv... |
| £900 to £2,400VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsApplying for the grant, collecting and distributing the assets. Our fee will typically be between £900 and £2,400 and VAT. |
| £2,200 to £6,000VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsApplying for the grant only. Probate Charges – Inheritance Tax Account required. In such cases we will provide a bespoke fee estimate when the nature and extent of the estate are known. However, the total costs in a case where an Inheritance Tax Account must be submitted (and where the value of t... |
The firm
- Regulated by
- The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 566521
- Where
- Bangor, Gwynedd, LL57 4HN
- Telephone
- 01248 362551
- Prices published at
- www.cartervincent.co.uk/ein-ffioedd/english-probate-charges/
- Website
- www.cartervincent.co.uk
How to read these prices
Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.
Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.
Is this your firm?
This page is built from the prices Carter Vincent LLP publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.
If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.