Probate Panel homeGet quotes

Davis Simmonds & Donaghey: published probate fees

For estates paying inheritance tax, Davis Simmonds & Donaghey publishes a fee of £3,000 to £5,000 VAT not stated.

50% above the £2,000 median across the 218 firms here that publish one for estates paying inheritance tax.

Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.

Ask Davis Simmonds & Donaghey for a quoteCheck the firm's price page

Estates paying inheritance tax

Estates that need a full inheritance tax account for HMRC.

One published price for estates paying inheritance tax
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£3,000 to £5,000VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
For a more complicated estate where there are other assets such investment properties or shares and there is potentially inheritance tax to pay, our fees are more likely to be between £3,000 and £5,000 plus disbursements.

Probate work

The firm did not say which part of the work this price covers.

2 published prices for probate work
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£1,000VAT not statedFixed fee estimate
The firm's words
Clients are then given an estimate of our likely fees based on the information provided. For a basic estate where the main asset is the deceased s residence and the estate does not exceed £325,000 and the estate is passing to the deceased s spouse and children, our fees would not normally exceed ...
£275 an hourVAT not statedHourly rate
The firm's words
Because each estate is different in size and complexity, we do not offer a standard fixed fee for this work. Instead, work is charged at an hourly rate of £275 plus disbursements.

The firm

Regulated by
The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 266782
Where
Gillingham, Kent, ME7 1BE
Telephone
01634 852700
Prices published at
www.dsdlaw.co.uk/pricing-structure
Website
www.dsdlaw.co.uk

How to read these prices

Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.

Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.

Is this your firm?

This page is built from the prices Davis Simmonds & Donaghey publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.

If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.

Email us about this page