Gudgeons Prentice: published probate fees
For grant of probate only, Gudgeons Prentice publishes a fee of £1,100 plus VAT.
9% below the £1,210 median across the 522 firms here that publish one for grant of probate only.
Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.
Ask Gudgeons Prentice for a quoteCheck the firm's price page
Grant of probate only
The firm applies for the grant. You do the rest of the estate work yourself.
| Price | How it is charged | What the firm published |
|---|---|---|
| £1,100plus VAT | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsGrant Only Service. Service | Fee. Grant of Probate only (no IHT payable) | £1,100 + VAT + Disbursements. |
| £1,600plus VAT | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsGrant Only Service. Value of estate: £325,000 - £650,000 | £1,600 + VAT + Disbursements. |
| £1,900plus VAT | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsGrant Only Service. Value or estate: £650,000 | £1,900 + VAT + Disbursements. |
Full estate administration
The firm handles the whole estate, from the grant to distributing it.
| Price | How it is charged | What the firm published |
|---|---|---|
| £500 to £1,000plus VAT | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsFull Estate Administration. Deed of Variation: £500-£1,000 + VAT. |
| £3,000VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsFull Estate Administration. | Fees to: Simple Estate | £3,000 | £7,500. |
| £7,500VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsFull Estate Administration. Medium Complexity | £7,500 | £25,000. |
| £25,000VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsFull Estate Administration. High Complexity | £25,000 | £50,000. |
The firm
- Regulated by
- The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 50329
- Where
- Stowmarket, Suffolk, IP14 1ED
- Telephone
- 01449 613101
- Prices published at
- www.gudgeons-prentice.co.uk/probate-fees
- Website
- www.gudgeons-prentice.co.uk
How to read these prices
Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.
Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.
Is this your firm?
This page is built from the prices Gudgeons Prentice publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.
If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.