Probate Panel homeGet quotes

Houghton Pigot & Co: published probate fees

Houghton Pigot & Co publishes its probate charges as hourly rates rather than as a fixed fee.

Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.

Ask Houghton Pigot & Co for a quoteCheck the firm's price page

Grant of probate only

The firm applies for the grant. You do the rest of the estate work yourself.

One published price for grant of probate only
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£290 an hourVAT not statedHourly rate
The firm's words
Applying for the grant, collecting and distributing the assets. We anticipate this will take between 4 and 6 hours work at £290 per hour.

Probate work

The firm did not say which part of the work this price covers.

One published price for probate work
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
0.5% to 1% of the estateVAT not statedPercentage of the estate
The firm's words
In addition to these charges we charge 1.5% of the value of the estate and 0.75% of the value of any property where a solicitor of the firm is an Executor and 1% and 0.5% respectively in all other cases.

This firm publishes no fixed probate fee, so the final cost depends on the hours the work takes. Ask for an estimate in writing before you instruct.

The firm

Regulated by
The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 68130
Where
Wigan, Lancashire, WN1 1TD
Telephone
01942 241288
Prices published at
www.houghtonpigot.co.uk/transparency-statement-probate/
Website
www.houghtonpigot.co.uk

How to read these prices

Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.

Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.

Is this your firm?

This page is built from the prices Houghton Pigot & Co publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.

If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.

Email us about this page