Howell-Jones LLP: published probate fees
For full estate administration, Howell-Jones LLP publishes a fee of £6,000 to £25,000 plus VAT.
140% above the £2,500 median across the 452 firms here that publish one for full estate administration.
Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.
Ask Howell-Jones LLP for a quoteCheck the firm's price page
Full estate administration
The firm handles the whole estate, from the grant to distributing it.
| Price | How it is charged | What the firm published |
|---|---|---|
| £6,000 to £25,000plus VAT | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsComplete service – full estate administration. For an average UK estate, we would expect our time-based fees to range from £6,000 to £25,000 plus VAT at 20%. |
| 1% of the estateplus VAT | Percentage of the estate | The firm's wordsComplete service – full estate administration. We calculate the value element as follows: Where we are not Executors – 1% of the gross estate, plus VAT at 20%. |
| 1.5% of the estateplus VAT | Percentage of the estate | The firm's wordsComplete service – full estate administration. If partners or members of Howell-Jones are Executors – 1.5% of the gross estate, plus VAT at 20%. |
| £160 to £190 an hourplus VAT | Hourly rate | The firm's wordsComplete service – full estate administration. In addition, paralegals and trainees, who may also work on your file, have an hourly rate ranging from £160 – £190 + VAT. |
| £230 to £450 an hourplus VAT | Hourly rate | The firm's wordsComplete service – full estate administration. We calculate the time element by reviewing the time your lawyer will spend on the matter. Our time is charged based on our hourly rates which range from £230 – £450 + VAT, depending on the experience of the lawyer. |
Probate work
The firm did not say which part of the work this price covers.
| Price | How it is charged | What the firm published |
|---|---|---|
| from £2,000VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsEstates where an IHT account is not required | From £2,000 | From £2,400. |
| from £4,000VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsEstate where an IHT account is required | From £4,000 | From £4,800. |
The firm
- Regulated by
- The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 463477
- Where
- Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey, KT1 2AF
- Telephone
- 020 8549 5186
- Prices published at
- www.howell-jones.com/our-pricing/wills-probate-pricing/
- Website
- www.howell-jones.com
How to read these prices
Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.
Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.
Is this your firm?
This page is built from the prices Howell-Jones LLP publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.
If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.