Probate Panel homeGet quotes

Hughes & Company: published probate fees

For grant of probate only, Hughes & Company publishes a fee of £1,000 to £1,200 plus VAT.

17% below the £1,210 median across the 522 firms here that publish one for grant of probate only.

Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.

Ask Hughes & Company for a quoteCheck the firm's price page

Grant of probate only

The firm applies for the grant. You do the rest of the estate work yourself.

2 published prices for grant of probate only
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£1,000 to £1,200plus VATFixed fee
The firm's words
GRANT ONLY applications. Our fee. for this service is £1,000 + £200 VAT – a total of £1,200.
£1,850 to £2,220plus VATFixed fee
The firm's words
GRANT ONLY applications. If the Estate is more complex and requires an Inheritance Tax Account (IHT400) to be submitted, our. fee for obtaining the Grant only will be £1,850 + £370 VAT – a total of £2,220.

Full estate administration

The firm handles the whole estate, from the grant to distributing it.

4 published prices for full estate administration
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£175 an hourVAT not statedHourly rate
The firm's words
Full Administration.  Support Staff £175.00 per hour.
£200 an hourVAT not statedHourly rate
The firm's words
Full Administration.  Trainees & Legal Assistants £200.00 per hour.
£265 an hourVAT not statedHourly rate
The firm's words
Full Administration.  Assistant Solicitors & Legal Executives £265.00 per hour.
£300 an hourVAT not statedHourly rate
The firm's words
Full Administration. Our charge rates are as follows:-.  Partners £300.00 per hour.

The firm

Regulated by
The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 69840
Where
Tring, Hertfordshire, HP23 5XA
Telephone
01442 891717
Prices published at
www.hughesand.co.uk/files/2023-probate.pdf
Website
www.hughesand.co.uk

How to read these prices

Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.

Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.

Is this your firm?

This page is built from the prices Hughes & Company publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.

If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.

Email us about this page