John Copland & Son: published probate fees
For estates paying inheritance tax, John Copland & Son publishes a fee of £2,500 to £4,000 plus VAT.
25% above the £2,000 median across the 218 firms here that publish one for estates paying inheritance tax.
Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.
Ask John Copland & Son for a quoteCheck the firm's price page
Estates paying inheritance tax
Estates that need a full inheritance tax account for HMRC.
| Price | How it is charged | What the firm published |
|---|---|---|
| £2,500 to £4,000plus VAT | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsApplying for probate with full inheritance tax account form I HT 400 required £2,500.00 – £4,000.00 plus VAT@ 20% £500.00 – £700.00 depending on complexity and what tax is payable. |
Probate work
The firm did not say which part of the work this price covers.
| Price | How it is charged | What the firm published |
|---|---|---|
| £526VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsWhether you need to pay depends on the value of the estate. If the value of the estate is over £5,000.00, the application fee is £526. |
| £5,000VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsThere is no fee if the estate is £5,000.00 or less. |
| £25,000VAT not stated | Fixed fee | The firm's wordsAs a general rule we will charge for dealing with claims and disputes involving children, criminal defence and money or property claims under £25,000 and transactional work and advice on property, land estates, companies and trusts under £100,000 as LOW level matters with regard to costs. |
| 3% to 5% of the estateplus VAT | Percentage of the estate | The firm's wordsCharges vary depending on the work requ ired but as a guideline expect this to cost between 3-5% of the gross estate (plus VAT@ 20%). |
The firm
- Regulated by
- The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 45488
- Where
- Sheerness, Kent, ME12 1TY
- Telephone
- 01795 664431
- Prices published at
- johncoplandandson.com/solicitor-costs/
- Website
- www.johncoplandandson.com
How to read these prices
Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.
Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.
Is this your firm?
This page is built from the prices John Copland & Son publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.
If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.