Probate Panel homeGet quotes

Larken & Co: published probate fees

For estates paying inheritance tax, Larken & Co publishes a fee of £1,250 to £1,750 plus VAT.

37% below the £2,000 median across the 218 firms here that publish one for estates paying inheritance tax.

Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.

Ask Larken & Co for a quoteCheck the firm's price page

Estates paying inheritance tax

Estates that need a full inheritance tax account for HMRC.

2 published prices for estates paying inheritance tax
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£1,250 to £1,750plus VATFixed fee
The firm's words
As a guide, we estimate our fees for dealing with the administration of an estate will be in the region of: Where the gross value of the estate for Inheritance Tax purposes does not exceed £75,000, our fees would be £1,250 - £1,750 + VAT.
2% of the estateplus VATPercentage of the estate
The firm's words
Where the gross value of the estate for Inheritance Tax purposes exceeds £75,000 we would not anticipate that the costs would exceed 2% of the gross value of the estate for Inheritance Tax purposes + VAT subject to a minimum of £1,250 + VAT.

Probate work

The firm did not say which part of the work this price covers.

2 published prices for probate work
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
0.5% of the estateVAT not statedPercentage of the estate
The firm's words
The second element is the gross value of the estate, and this reflects the responsibility on the Firm, which is charged as follows: Owner-occupied homes – 0.5%.
1% of the estateVAT not statedPercentage of the estate
The firm's words
The remainder of the estate – 1%.

The firm

Regulated by
The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 53640
Where
Newark, Nottinghamshire, NG24 1XE
Telephone
01636 703333
Prices published at
www.larken.co.uk/about/transparency-guidance/103-probate
Website
www.larken.co.uk

How to read these prices

Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.

Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.

Is this your firm?

This page is built from the prices Larken & Co publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.

If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.

Email us about this page