Probate Panel homeGet quotes

MacFarlanes LLP: published probate fees

For grant of probate only, MacFarlanes LLP publishes a fee of £30,000 VAT not stated.

2379% above the £1,210 median across the 522 firms here that publish one for grant of probate only.

Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.

Ask MacFarlanes LLP for a quoteCheck the firm's price page

Grant of probate only

The firm applies for the grant. You do the rest of the estate work yourself.

One published price for grant of probate only
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£30,000VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
Applying for the grant of representation. \n \n £30,000 to £100,000.

Full estate administration

The firm handles the whole estate, from the grant to distributing it.

One published price for full estate administration
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£10,000VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
Administering the estate. \n \n £10,000 to £100,000.

The firm

Regulated by
The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 486980
Where
London, EC4A 1LT
Telephone
020 7831 9222
Prices published at
www.macfarlanes.com/pricing-transparency/probate-and-administration-of-uncontested-estates-based-wholly-in-the-uk/
Website
www.macfarlanes.com

How to read these prices

Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.

Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.

Is this your firm?

This page is built from the prices MacFarlanes LLP publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.

If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.

Email us about this page