Probate Panel homeGet quotes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP: published probate fees

For probate work, Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP publishes a fee of £4,000 to £5,000 VAT not stated.

100% above the £2,000 median across the 307 firms here that publish one for probate work.

Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.

Ask Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP for a quoteCheck the firm's price page

Probate work

The firm did not say which part of the work this price covers.

5 published prices for probate work
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£4,000 to £5,000VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
An average fee under either method when dealing with an estate is in the typical region of £4,000 - £5,000.
£5,250plus VATFixed fee estimate
The firm's words
The charges are fixed and are known with certainty and proportionate to the overall value of the estate. For example if the total value of the estate was £300.000 then under this method our fees would be £5,250 + VAT.
2% of the estateVAT not statedPercentage of the estate
The firm's words
On each estate we can provide an estimate as to our likely charges to the executor using both methods: Method 1 - we charge our fees based on a percentage of the estate value- this is usually 2% of the total value of the estate.
£210 to £250 an hourVAT not statedHourly rate
The firm's words
Bank or financial institution administration charges. Method 2 - we charge our fees based on the time spent by our fee earner on the estate (usually £210-£250 per hour).
£250 an hourplus VATHourly rate estimate
The firm's words
For example if we were to spend 15 hours dealign with your estate at £250 per hour the fees would be £3,750 + VAT.

The firm

Regulated by
The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 408855
Where
Gillingham, ME8 0NJ
Telephone
01634 728110
Prices published at
www.martintolhurst.co.uk/site/pricetransparency/probate-pricingandservice/
Website
www.martintolhurst.co.uk

How to read these prices

Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.

Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.

Is this your firm?

This page is built from the prices Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.

If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.

Email us about this page