Probate Panel homeGet quotes

Ranson Houghton LLP: published probate fees

For estates paying inheritance tax, Ranson Houghton LLP publishes a fee of £3,500 to £4,500 VAT not stated.

75% above the £2,000 median across the 218 firms here that publish one for estates paying inheritance tax.

Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.

Ask Ranson Houghton LLP for a quoteCheck the firm's price page

Estates paying inheritance tax

Estates that need a full inheritance tax account for HMRC.

2 published prices for estates paying inheritance tax
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£3,500 to £4,500VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
​. £3,500.00 to £4,500.00 a more complicated estate with a larger number of assets, beneficiaries based overseas and the prospect of an inheritance tax liability.
£4,500 to £7,000VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
​. £4,500.00 to £7,000.00 a large number of high worth assets and an inheritance tax liability.

Probate work

The firm did not say which part of the work this price covers.

2 published prices for probate work
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£750 to £2,500VAT not statedFixed fee estimate
The firm's words
​. £750.00 to £2,500.00 when the estate is fairly simple, for example there is a valid Will, a minimal asset value and number of different assets and easily identifiable beneficiaries.
£250 an hourVAT not statedHourly rate
The firm's words
​. Statutory Advertisements (if it is believed that there may be unidentified creditors of the estate) these can vary but should be no more than approximately £250.00.

The firm

Regulated by
The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 567571
Where
Andover, Hampshire, SP10 1BE
Telephone
01264 333505
Prices published at
www.rhsolicitors.co.uk/wills
Website
www.rhsolicitors.co.uk

How to read these prices

Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.

Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.

Is this your firm?

This page is built from the prices Ranson Houghton LLP publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.

If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.

Email us about this page