Probate Panel homeGet quotes

Yates Legal Limited: published probate fees

For grant of probate only, Yates Legal Limited publishes a fee of £2,000 to £4,000 VAT not stated.

65% above the £1,210 median across the 522 firms here that publish one for grant of probate only.

Read from the firm's own price page on 7 September 2026, yesterday. We publish the figures as the firm wrote them, including whether VAT is on top.

Ask Yates Legal Limited for a quoteCheck the firm's price page

Grant of probate only

The firm applies for the grant. You do the rest of the estate work yourself.

2 published prices for grant of probate only
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£2,000 to £4,000VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
Applying for the grant. Package 7. HMRC IHT400 required, inheritance tax is payable but you are providing all information – £2,000 to £4,000.
£4,500 to £7,000VAT not statedFixed fee
The firm's words
Applying for the grant. Package 8. HMRC IHT400 required, inheritance tax payable and we are required to obtain estate information – £4,500 to £7,000.

Full estate administration

The firm handles the whole estate, from the grant to distributing it.

2 published prices for full estate administration
PriceHow it is chargedWhat the firm published
£3,000 to £6,000plus VATFixed fee
The firm's words
Stage 2 – Estate Administration. Total costs estimated at £3,000 – £6,000 (+VAT at 20%).
£300 an hourplus VATHourly rate
The firm's words
Stage 2 – Estate Administration. The time this will take will depend on the complexity of the estate and the number of beneficiaries. For a simple estate, we anticipate this will take between 10 and 20 hours work at £300 per hour plus VAT at 20%.

The firm

Regulated by
The Solicitors Regulation Authority, number 8004732
Where
Altrincham, WA14 1RP
Telephone
07983 589741
Prices published at
www.yateslegal.co.uk/probate-fees
Website
www.yateslegal.co.uk

How to read these prices

Firms publish prices for different pieces of work, so compare the same row across firms rather than the headline. A fee marked "from" is the firm's starting price and the final figure can be higher. A fee marked "estimate" was published against a described example estate rather than as a flat price. Where a firm did not say whether VAT is included, we say so rather than guessing: VAT adds a fifth to the bill.

Prices change. If this page and the firm's own page disagree, the firm's page is right, and we would like to know: hello@probatepanel.co.uk.

Is this your firm?

This page is built from the prices Yates Legal Limited publishes on its own website, read on 7 September 2026 and shown with a link to the source. Nothing here is our opinion of the firm.

If a figure is out of date or we have read it wrongly, tell us and we will correct it, or remove the page if you would rather not appear. Enquiries from executors who have read this page come through us, so if you would like to receive them, say so in the same email.

Email us about this page